Back to Catalogue

Grafenegg Midsummer Night's Gala 2014

Angela Denoke soprano | Ramón Vargas tenor | Jean-Yves Thibaudet piano
Juanjo Mena

This DVD will be released in the autumn. Grafenegg, home to the world’s best orchestras, singers and musicians is set in the gorgeous wine-country landscape of Lower Austria, the historic castle and its beautiful gardens invite to a spectacle of classical music inspired by nature. The Midsummer Night’s Gala takes a musical stroll through the romantic landscape of Wachau while lending the German top soprano Angela Denoke, the Mexican tenor Ramón Vargas or renowned pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet your ear. The Tonkünstler-Orchester is conducted by Juanjo Mena, one of Spain’s most distinguished conductors. Enjoy a musical world tour with popular classics from Opera, Musical, Operetta and Film Music. For the final, the orchestra performs Edward Elgar’s “Pomp and Circumstances”, accompanied by a spectacular firework.

With Music from Ravel, Strauss, Puccini, Ciléa, Lehár, Heuberger, Giménez, Barcelata, Velazquez, Gershwin, Rodgers and Hollaender.


M. RAVEL Rapsodie espagnole, 4th movt “Feria”,
R. STRAUSS “Das Rosenband”, Op. 36/1, “Cäcilie”, Op. 27/2,
G. PUCCINI “E lucevan le stelle” from “Tosca”
F. CILÉA “E la solita storia del Pastore” from “L’ Arlesiana”,
M. RAVEL Concert for Piano and Orchestra in G major, 3rd movt
F. LEHÁR “Warum hat jeder Frühling, ach nur einen Mai”
from “Der Zarewitsch”
R. HEUBERGER “Geh’n wir in’s Chambre séparée”
from “Der Opernball”
O. STRAUS “Warum soll eine Frau kein Verhältnis haben?”
from “Eine Frau, die weiß, was sie will”
J. GIMÉNEZ Intermezzo from “La boda de Luis Alonso”
L. BARCELATA Maria Elena (arr: Roberto Negri)
C. VELAZQUEZ Bésame mucho (arr: Arturo Márquez)
G. GERSHWIN “I got rhythm” Variations for Piano & Orchestra
R. RODGERS “I’m gonna wash that man right out of my hair”,
“Some enchanted evening” and Overture from “South Pacific”
F. HOLLAENDER “Ich weiß nicht, zu wem ich gehöre” from
“Stürme der Leidenschaft” (arr: Tal Balshai)

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
88 mins