Back to Catalogue

Great American Orchestras

Elisabete Matos mezzo-soprano | Kenneth Riegel tenor | Christine Schäfer soprano | Norman Carol violin | Itzhak Perlman violin | Mary Zatzman chorus master | John Oliver chorus master
Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Boston Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, The Philadelphia Orchestra, The Cleveland Orchestra, Tanglewood Festival Chorus, The Mendelssohn Club of Philadelphia
Daniel Barenboim, Leonard Bernstein, Pierre Boulez, Lorin Maazel, Eugene Ormandy, Sir Georg Solti, Franz Welser-Möst

This 11 DVD collection is a must-have for all American classical music lovers. The Top 5 American Orchestras in one box, featuring the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, The Cleveland Orchestra and The Philadelphia Orchestra. Including the legendary concert performance of the New York Philharmonic in North Koreas capital Pyongyang in 2008, and many other classic performances. With legendary conductors Leonard Bernstein, Pierre Boulez, Eugene Ormandi, Sir Georg Solti, Daniel Barenboim, Lorin Maazel, Franz Welser-Möst and world class soloists Norman Carol, Elisabete Matos, Itzhak Perlman, Kenneth Riegel and Christine Schäfer. With works by Beethoven, Berg, Bernstein, Bizet, Boulez, Brahms, Bruckner, Carli, de Falla, Debussy, Dvorák, Gershwin, Glinka, Handel, Holst, Liszt, Mussorgsky, Rachmaninov, Rimsky-Korsakov, Schubert, Strauss, Stravinsky, Tchaikovsky, Wagner and Wolf-Ferrari.


Pierre Boulez: Notations I-IV Claude Debussy: La Mer; Le Jet d’eau; 3 Ballades de François Villon
Manuel De Falla: El sombrero de tres picos
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73; Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98
Franz Liszt: A Faust Symphony
Alban Berg: Lulu-Suite (Excerpts)
Igor Stravinsky: The Firebird; The Firebird – Suite (1919 version)
Leonard Bernstein: Candide – Overture
Georges Bizet: Farandole from L’Arlésienne Suite No. 2
Antonín Dvorák: Symphony No 9 “From the New World”
George Gershwin: An American in Paris
Richard Wagner: Lohengrin – Prelude to Act III
Mikhail Glinka: Ruslan and Lyudmila – Overture
George Handel: Concerto in D Major
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Sheherazade, Op. 35
Richard Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier – Suite
Ermanno Wolf-Ferrari: Il segreto di Susanna – Overture
Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35
Modest Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27
Gustav Holst: The Planets
Ludwig Van Beethoven: Symphony No. 1 in C Major
Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 6 in C Major; Symphony No. 8 in B minor “Unfinished”
Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 in D minor

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9 & 4:3
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
1067 mins
Details running time
DVD 1: 110 mins, DVD 2: 95 mins, DVD 3: 83 mins, DVD 4: 91 mins, DVD 5: 159 mins, DVD 6: 91 mins, DVD 7: 89 mins, DVD 8: 81 mins, DVD 9: 81 mins, DVD 10: 105 mins, DVD 11: 82 mins
English, French, German
No. of discs
Daniel Barenboim in conversation with Pierre Boulez (DVD 1); Bernstein at Tanglewood (DVD 2); Documentary "Americans in Pyongyang" (DVD 5); Introduction to Schubert's Symphonies Nos. 6 & 8 by Sir Georg Solti (DVD 10); Introduction by Franz Welser-Möst