Back to Catalogue

Gala from Berlin 2001- "Invitation to the Dance"

Daniel Barenboim piano
Berliner Philharmoniker
Daniel Barenboim

To mark the turn of the year from 2001 to 2002, Daniel Barenboim and the Berlin Philharmonic at their traditional New Year's Eve Concert this time urged the audience to take up their cordial "Invitation to the Dance". The result was a lively whirl of catchy and melodious numbers selected from over 300 years of music history: a heady cocktail of old and new that put a spring into the steps of both connoisseurs of brilliant orchestral miniatures and lovers of Latin American rhythms alike when they finally danced out into the crisp New Year's Eve night.


Bach: Orchestra Suite, BWV 1068, Gavotte I and II; Mozart: Divertimento, KV 334, Menuett; Rondo for Piano and Orchestra, KV 386; Verdi: “Aida” 2nd act, 1st scene, Danza di piccoli schiavi mori; Dvorák: Slavonic Dance No. 8, op. 46; etc.


Prog. No.
Music genre
Orchestral Music
97 mins
Hans Hulscher
EuroArts Music International, ZDF, NHK, VIDEAL/ brilliant media © VIDEAL/ brilliant media, EuroArts
Production year