Back to Catalogue

EUROPAKONZERT 1996 from St. Petersburg

Anatoly Kocherga baritone | Kolja Blacher violin
Berliner Philharmoniker
Claudio Abbado

The founding of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the first of May in 1882, is annually celebrated with a concert in an European city of cultural significance. The Mariinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg ranks among those opera houses that may well deserve to be called “legendary”. The Berliner Philharmoniker under the baton of Claudio Abbado celebrated their anniversary with Russian favorites, which are complemented by two of Beethoven’s "Violin Romances" and his "Seventh Symphony".


Sergei Prokofiev: Excerpts from Romeo and Julia
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Vyes tabor spit: Aleko’s Cavatina
Ludwig Van Beethoven: Romances for Violin and Orchestra No. 1 in G Major, Op. 40; Romances for Violin and Orchestra No. 2 in F Major, Op. 50; Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Waltz of the Flowers from The Nutcracker

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC code
Region code
All (A1/B2/C3)
Picture format
Full HD 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
110 mins
Details running time
90 mins, 20 mins (Documentary)
English, French, Italian, Spanish
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs