Back to Catalogue

Bach: Brandenburg Concertos

Gottfried von der Goltz violin | Daniela Helm violino piccolo | Christian Goosses viola | Ulrike Kaufmann viola | Isabel Crijnen recorder | Thera de Clerck recorder | Michael Behringer harpsichord | Karl Kaiser transverse flute | Friedemann Immer trumpet | Katharina Arfken oboe
Freiburger Barockorchester
Gottfried von der Goltz

When Bach was in the service of Prince Leopold in Coethen, he had his own orchestra and was contracted to compose a great deal of instrumental music. This gave him an opportunity to try new techniques and to develop his own instrumental style. The six Brandenburg Concertos belongs to these masterpieces for a small ensemble. This joyously infectious performance of these famous landmarks in the history of music by the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra demonstrates both the musical satisfaction and the high professional standard that can be reached with period instruments. The performance was given in the Bach Anniversary Year 2000 – 250 years after his death – in the elegant Hall of Mirrors at Coethen Castle. The Freiburg Baroque Orchestra’s members all have virtuoso skills. They take the spotlight gracefully for solos but also play with the true ensemble spirit required by the music. Their decision to perform without a conductor revives an eighteenth century practice. A bonus film features several other famous and entertaining examples of Bach’s chamber music.


J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concertos Nos.1–6

Facts DVD Digital

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
Total running time
109 mins
Details running time
95 mins, 14 mins (Bonus)
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs
Sarabande from Cello Suite No.5, BWV 1011: Hille Perl, viola da gamba; “Die Katze lässt das Mausen nicht” from Coffee Cantata, BWV 211: Madeleine Vogt (soprano), Matthias Schubotz (tenor), Holger Krause (bass), Members of the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig; Back(h) in Cöthen: Freiburger Barockorchester