Back to Catalogue

EUROPAKONZERT 2005 from Budapest

Leonidas Kavakos violin
Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle

On 1st of May 2005 the Berliner Philharmoniker gave their fifteenth EUROPAKONZERT at the impressive Hungarian State Opera in Budapest. The concert program featured Bartók’s Second Violin Concerto performed by the Greek violinist Leonidas Kavakos, who is widely regarded as one of the most exciting musicians of his generation. The concert opened with Berlioz’s overture Le Corsaire, the second half of the program comprised Stravinsky’s Firebird, the spectacular orchestral piece inspired by folk music of the composer’s native Russia.


Hector Berlioz: Le Corsaire: Ouverture
Béla Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2
Igor Stravinsky: The Firebird

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
103 mins
Booklet notes
No. of discs