Back to Catalogue

The Legacy of Seiji Ozawa – SD on Blu-ray Sampler

Martha Argerich piano | Anne-Sophie Mutter violin | Marcus Roberts Trio
Saito Kinen Orchestra, Berliner Philharmoniker
Seiji Ozawa, Kazuyoshi Akiyama

This Blu-ray sampler with carefully selected concerts accompanies Seiji Ozawa's impressive career over 3 decades. Seiji Ozawa was not only Japan’s best-known conductor but also the founder of the Saito Kinen Festival in Matsumoto, which in 2015 was renamed the Seiji Ozawa Matsumoto Festival. 

Special feature included in this edition from Matsumoto: on the occasion of Maestro Ozawa’s 80th birthday, Martha Argerich and Matthias Goerne joined the orchestra to perform Beethoven’s Choral Fantasy, Op. 80, plus a rendition of ‘Happy Birthday’ - a deeply emotional moment for the Maestro! 


Seiji Ozawa from the Alte Oper Frankfurt (107 mins); A Russian Night – Waldbühne 1993 (98 mins); A Gershwin Night – Waldbühne 2003 (111 mins); Karajan Memorial Concert 2008 (113 mins); Seiji Ozawa at the Matsumoto Festival (82 mins)

Facts Blu-ray

Item number
UPC code
Region code
All (A1/B2/C3)
Picture format
SD on Blu-ray 16:9 & 4:3
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
506 mins
No. of discs