Back to Catalogue

Nobel Prize Concert 2009

Martha Argerich piano
Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Yuri Temirkanov

Each year Nobel Media organises a classical concert as a tribute to the Nobel Laureates. This 2009 concert features the charismatic virtuoso Martha Argerich playing Ravel's mercurial Piano Concerto in G major, supported with vivacity and polish by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra and Russian conductor Yuri Temirkanov. Bringing the first half of the concert to a close, Argerich plays Chopin's tiny, gem-like Mazurka, Op. 24 No. 2 in C major. Under Temirkanov's baton, the orchestra then gives rich and insightful performances of music by Shostakovich and Prokofiev.


Shostakovich: Festive Overture, Op. 96; Ravel: Piano Concerto in G Major; Prokofiev: Suites 1 and 2 from "Romeo and Juliet", Op. 64b and 64c; Encore: Chopin: Mazurka, Op. 24 in C Major

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
79 mins
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs