Back to Catalogue

Abbado Conducts Mahler No. 1 & Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3

Yuja Wang piano
Lucerne Festival Orchestra
Claudio Abbado

The charismatic and inspiring Claudio Abbado and the mesmerising young pianist Yuja Wang, with the Lucerne Festival Orchestra, hold the audience spellbound in this opening concert of the 2009 Lucerne Festival. Prokofiev's popular and vibrant Third Piano Concerto demonstrates the composer's sharp musical wit, and Yuja Wang is a brilliant exponent of the work. Following this, and chiming beautifully with the festival's theme of the relationship between art and nature, Mahler's First Symphony is given an illuminating and rapturously received performance.


Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major, Op. 26; Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1 in D Major

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC code
Region code
All (A1/B2/C3)
Picture format
Full HD 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
93 mins
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs