Back to Catalogue

Sir Simon Rattle and Sol Gabetta

Sol Gabetta cello
Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle

The Argentinian cellist Sol Gabetta made her Philharmoniker debut at the 2014 Easter Festival in Baden-Baden with Edward Elgar’s Cello Concerto, the final great work of the composer. The conductor and orchestra also performed the prelude to Wagner’s Lohengrin, György Ligeti’s orchestral piece Atmosphères and Igor Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du Printemps, a work which is entirely focused on the future and pushes the boundaries of classical music in terms of sound, rhythm and energy.


György Ligeti: Atmosphères
Richard Wagner: Prelude to Act 1 from Lohengrin 
Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85
Igor Stravinsky: Le Sacre du Printemps

“Sol Gabetta’s Elgar Concerto is one of the best around, a heartfelt, tonally rounded performance.”
Gramophone magazine
Grammophone DVD of the month

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC code
Region code
All (A1/B2/C3)
Picture format
Full HD 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts-HD Master Audio
Total running time
94 mins
No subtitles
Booklet notes
No. of discs