Back to Catalogue

Masters of Classical Music

Berliner Philharmoniker, Wiener Philharmoniker, Gewandhausorchester, Sächsische Staatskapelle
Claudio Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Boulez, Semyon Bychkov, Riccardo Chailly, Hartmut Haenchen, Bernard Haitink, Mariss Jansons, Kurt Masur, Guiseppe Sinopoli, Gottfried von der Goltz

Masters of Classical Music is an informative and captivating guide to twenty of the most important works in music history. Outtakes from the original scores within the documentaries, assist the viewer by making it easier to follow the music and to overall comprehend the structure of the works. The viewer will travel back in time to experience the birth places of these compositions and will thereby gain insight into the lives of the composers whilst receiving a thorough introduction to the works. Hosted by Jeremy Barham, Michael Beckerman , Pierre Boulez, Frank-Michael Erben, Constantin Floros, Hartmut Haenchen, Peter Hill, Armin Koch, Wulf Kunold, Robert Levin, Paul Roberts, Wolfgang Sandberger, Habakuk Traber


Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Mozart: Symphony No. 41; Haydn: Symphony No. 94 “Surprise”; Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 and 9; Schubert: Symphony No. 8; Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique; Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E-minor; Schumann: Piano Concerto; Brahms: Violin Concerto; Bruckner: Symphony No. 8; Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5; Dvořák: Symphony No. 9; Debussy: La Mer; Mahler: Symphony No. 5 and "Das Lied von der Erde"; Stravinsky: Le Sacre du Printemps; Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie; Ravel: Boléro; Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
600 mins
English, German, French, Spanish, Korean, Chinese
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs