Back to Catalogue

Menahem Pressler - The Pianist (4-DVDs BOX)

Menahem Pressler piano | Christoph Prégardien tenor | Benjamin Berlioz double-bass
Berliner Philharmoniker, Orchestre de Paris, Quatuor Ébène
Sir Simon Rattle, Paavo Järvi

The music world has known Menahem Pressler for more than half a century and mainly for his work with the famous Beaux Arts Trio. He was the heart of this ensemble and when in 2008 the trio decided to separate, it was not the end for Menahem Pressler’s career – in fact it was the start of a most remarkable and successful path as a soloist. This 4-DVD edition contains concert performances with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Orchestre de Paris and Quatuor Ébène. Including the award-winning portrait of Menahem Pressler “The Life I Love” (winner of the Grand Prix at the Golden Prague Festival 2015).

DVD 1 New Year‘s Eve Concert 2014 (135 mins)
Sir Simon Rattle · Menahem Pressler · Berliner Philharmoniker

Jean-Philippe Rameau: Suite from Les Indes galantes
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto in A Major, K. 488
Frédéric Chopin: Nocturne No. 1 in C-sharp minor, Op. 27
Antonín Dvorák: Slavonic Dance No. 2 in E minor, Op. 46; Slavonic Dance No. 7 in C Major, Op. 72
Zoltán Kodály: Háry János Suite
Johannes Brahms: Hungarian Dance No. 1 in G minor
Aram Khatchaturian: Gayaneh: Suite No. 1 "Lezginka"

The Life I Love – The Pianist Menahem Pressler

A production of EuroArts Music International GmbH
in coproduction with BR, rbb, WDR, Deutsche Welle. © EuroArts Music International 2014.

DVD 2 Pressler · Järvi · Orchestre de Paris (95 mins)
Paavo Järvi · Menahem Pressler · Philippe Aiche · Roland Daugareil · Orchestre de Paris

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major, K. 488; Piano Concerto No. 27 in B-flat Major, K. 595
Claude Debussy: Clair de lune

Menahem Pressler in conversation with Paavo Järvi

Co-produced by LGM Télévision and Orchestre de Paris in association with Arte France and the participation of TVFIL 78 and Cinaps TV, with the support of the Centre national de la Cinématographie et de l’image animée. © LGM – Orchestre de Paris – 2014.

DVD 3 Menahem Pressler in Recital at Cité de la Musique, Paris (88 mins)
Menahem Pressler

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 31 in A-flat Major, Op. 110
Fryderyk Chopin: Mazurka No. 1, Op. 7; Mazurka No. 3, Op. 7; Mazurka No. 4, Op. 17; Nocturne No. 20 in C-sharp minor, Op. posth.
Claude Debussy: Estampes
Franz Schubert: Sonata in B-flat Major, D. 960

A production of Idéale Audience – 2011. © Idéale Audience – 2011.

DVD 4 Menahem Pressler – A 90th Birthday Celebration (116 mins)
Menahem Pressler · Christoph Prégardien · Benjamin Berlioz · Quatuor Ébène

Antonín Dvorák: Piano Quintet in A Major, Op. 81
Franz Schubert: Winterreise, D. 911; Die Forelle, D. 550; Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667 “The trout”
Claude Debussy: String Quartet in G minor, Op. 10
Fryderyc Chopin: Nocturne in C sharp minor, Op. posth.

© 2014 LGM Television under exclusive license to
Erato/Warner Classics.

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
408 mins
Details running time
DVD 1: 135 mins, DVD 2: 95 mins, DVD 3: 88 mins, DVD 4: 116 mins
English, French, German
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs