Back to Catalogue

Ensemble Wien-Berlin Plays Beethoven & Mozart

Hansjörg Schellenberg oboe | Günter Högner horn | Karl Leistner clarinete | Milan Turković bassoon
Ensemble Wien-Berlin

“Here the crème de la crème of orchestral musicians are to be found sitting alongside one another and performing at such an unprecedentedly high level that it is a joy to listen to them. There is a constant give and take in terms of their breathing and articulation and in the whole way they work and think” (Der Kurier). Made up of wind soloists from the Berlin and Vienna Philharmonics, the Ensemble Wien-Berlin performs two of the greatest of all chamber works in the aesthetically apt surroundings of Hellbrunn Palace near Salzburg. The pianist is James Levine, whose sensitive pianism should not be eclipsed by his reputation as one of the greatest conductors of our age. The bonus material on this DVD features an entertaining and informative portrait of this altogether magnifi cent ensemble.


Ludwig v. Beethoven: Quintet for Piano and Wind Instruments in E flat major, op.16; W.A. Mozart: Quintet for Piano and Wind Instruments in E flat major, K.452

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
110 mins
Details running time
62 mins, 48 mins (Portrait)
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs
Portrait Documentary about the Ensemble Wien-Berlin by award-winning American director Bill Fertik. With performances of: Ligeti: Six Bagatelles for Wind Quintet, Berio: Opus Number Zoo, W. A. Mozart: Adagio and Allegro, K.594, Francaix: Wind Quintet No.1.