Back to Catalogue

Salzburg Festival 2012: Wiener Philharmoniker, Mariss Jansons

Nina Stemme
Wiener Philharmoniker
Mariss Jansons

With a programme dedicated to the second half of the 19th century, Mariss Jansons, the vienna philharmonic and soprano Nina Stemme offer a "superlative concert experience" (Kurier). A brilliant reading of Richard Strauss's tone poem Don Juan opens this concert, Wagners "Wesendonck-Lieder", sung by the outstanding Swedish soprano Nina Stemme and the consiously down-to-earth-symphonic answer of Johannes Brahms Symphony No. 1 in C minor complete this extraordinary concert. "Jansons stimulates the philharmonic powers and leads them to produce an unparalleled quality - magical." (Der Standard)


Richard Strauss: Don Juan, Richard Wagner: Wesendonck-Lieder, Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 1 C minor, Op. 68

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
95 mins
English, French, German
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs