Back to Catalogue

Smetana: Má Vlast

Czech Philharmonic
Jiří Bělohlávek

Is there any more evocative piece of national music than “Má Vlast”? Smetana’s six orchestral poems – the most famous of which is “Vltava” (The Moldau) with its instantly recognizable melody and evocation of this great river - tell of Bohemia’s lands and legends. The Czech Philharmonic, with Jiří Bělohlávek as Music Director and Chief Conductor, have a unique quality amongst international orchestras, described by The Daily Telegraph as “something very subtle: a feeling of great power without aggression, exactitude without pedantically sharp edges, and a weight and clarity in the wind and brass.”

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
86 mins
Booklet notes
English, French, German