Back to Catalogue

Bruno Monsaingeon Edition Vol. 2 - Yehudi Menuhin

Yehudi Menuhin violin | Bruno Monsaingeon violin | Jeremy Menuhin piano | Victoria Postnikova piano | Marc Coppey violoncello
Yehudi Menuhin, Gennadi Rozhdestvensky, Kurt Masur

We are proud to present the second edition of the ultimate collection of films by Bruno Monsaingeon, probably the most outstanding music filmmaker, who has documented life and work of the greatest artists of our time: Yehudi Menuhin (1916-1999). The Bruno Monsaingeon Edition Volume 2 is a true gem for collectors, not only in terms of the design and content but also matching the personality of the artist portrayed, as well as of the director himself. In the edition, 12 films on DVD and various bonus programs can be found, most of them published for the first time: the 3-part documentary “Menuhin returns to the USSR” (“Retour aux Sources”) and five concert programs in Leningrad and Moscow showing his triumphant appearance at the top of the Perestroika in 1987 and 1989, the third movement of the Elgar Concerto which has never been published, the big retrospective documentary film “The Violin of the Century”, and other films like “Four Seasons” and the Brahms Concerto, also the conversations in Mykonos exclusively edited for this edition, as well as an interview with Bruno Monsaingeon he gave in January 2014 in Berlin.

DVD 1 The Violin of the Century (115 mins)
Yehudi Menuhin

DVD 2 »Do you realize how much I love music?« — Monsaingeon on Menuhin (59 mins)

Retour aux Sources. Yehudi Menuhin in the Soviet Union — First Episode (53 mins)

Le Grand Echiquier: Yehudi Menuhin (5 mins)
Yehudi Menuhin · Bruno Monsaingeon

Bela Bartók: Duets for Violin No. 28 and 38

Elgar: Violin Concerto — 3rd movement (16 mins)

DVD 3 Yehudi Menuhin in Moscow (131 mins)
Yehudi Menuhin · Gennadi Rozhdestvensky

Johann Sebastian Bach: Concerto for 3 Violins in D Major
Bela Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2
Ludwig van Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Sérénade Mélancolique

DVD 4 Retour aux Sources. Yehudi Menuhin in the Soviet Union — Second Episode (53 mins)

Yehudi Menuhin and Viktoria Postnikova in Leningrad (95 mins)
Yehudi Menuhin · Viktoria Postnikova

Johannes Brahms: Sonata in A Major, Op. 100
Bela Bartók: Sonata No. 1
Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 7 in C minor, Op. 30,2

DVD 5 Retour aux Sources. Yehudi Menuhin in the Soviet Union — Third Episode (55 mins)

Yehudi Menuhin in Leningrad (88 mins)
Yehudi Menuhin · Jeremy Menuhin

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B Minor,  Op. 74 "Pathétique"

DVD 6 Yehudi Menuhin and Viktoria Postnikova in Moscow (48 mins)
Yehudi Menuhin · Viktoria Postnikova

Johannes Brahms: Sonata in G Major Op. 78
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sonata in G Major, K. 379

Tchaikovsky’s Trio (51 mins)
Yehudi Menuhin · Viktoria Postnikova · Marc Coppey

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Trio in A Major, Op. 50 "In memory of a great artist"

DVD 7 Vivaldi: Les Quatre Saisons / The Four Seasons (52 mins)
Yehudi Menuhin

Brahms: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77 (58 mins)
Yehudi Menuhin · Kurt Masur

DVD 8 Conversations with Yehudi Menuhin — Mykonos, June 1994 (186 mins)​​​​​​​

Diapason d' Or Arte

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
1087 mins
English, French, German
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs