Back to Catalogue

Martha Argerich – Verbier 2007-2008

Martha Argerich piano | Stephen Kovacevich piano | Mischa Maisky cello | Renaud Capuçon violin | Gabriela Montero pianos | Joshua Bell violin | Henning Kraggerud violin | Yuri Bashmet viola

The classical record producer, Walter Legge, liked to describe himself as a “midwife to music”. Similarly, the production, for the second consecutive year, of the seventeen days of the 2008 Verbier Festival could be described as an attempt at being “harvester of music”. In preparing this DVD we have had the luxury of choosing from the best fruit borne of an exceptionally rich musical summer. Out of the 28 concerts we filmed and presented in association with Arte on, followed by over 760,000 viewers from 167 countries, we have selected what we feel is the most representative of the artistic quality and the aspirations of the Verbier Festival. Above all, we hope that this ambitious audio-visual project has captured the Festival’s multifaceted spirit. The Shostakovich Piano Quintet lead by Martha Argerich and Joshua Bell, united for the first time onstage, opens this selection and illustrates not only what exceptional musicians can achieve when brought together but also the involvement of the audience, who could not contain their applause after the Scherzo.


Bach – Partita n°2 in C minor BWV 826; Mozart – Andante and variations for piano four hands, K.501; Grieg – Sonata for piano and cello op.36; Bartok – Sonata for piano and violin; Lutoslawski – Paganini Variations; Chostakovich – Piano Quintet op.57

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
125 mins
Booklet notes
No. of discs