Back to Catalogue

Mendelssohn in Verbier

Yuja Wang, Kirill Troussov, David Aaron Carpenter, Sol Gabetta, Leigh Mesh, Maxim Rysanov, Kurt Masur
Verbier Festival Orchestra
Kurt Masur

These magnificent interpretations of three Mendelssohn works – two orchestral and one chamber – are given by the phenomenally talented young Chinese pianist Yuja Wang and other young performers. Praised in BBC Music Magazine for her ‘keen intelligence’ and ‘staggering technique’, Yuja Wang has also been described by the San Francisco Chronicle as ‘the sort of musician whose combination of talents appears in the world only rarely’. The Verbier Festival Orchestra consists of musicians hand-picked from every part of the world. Here they are directed by the doyen of German Mendelssohn conductors, Kurt Masur.


Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Piano Sextet in D Major, Op. 110 (Wang, Troussov, Carpenter, Gabetta, Mesh, Rysanov); Piano Concerto No. 1 in G Major, Op. 25; Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op. 56 (Yuja Wang, piano)

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
104 mins
Details running time
89 mins (Concert) + 15 mins (Wang / Stravinsky)
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs