Back to Catalogue

Beethoven: Missa Solemnis

John Nelson, Tamara Wilson, soprano | Elisabeth DeShong alto | Nikolaj Schukoff tenor | Alastair Milest bass | The Gulbenkian Choir
Chamber Orchestra of Europe
John Nelson

Soli Deo Gloria’s DVD of Missa Solemnis shines a supreme light on this rarely performed sacred masterpiece. Beethoven wrote that “music is the electrical soil in which the spirit lives, thinks and invents,” and this DVD beautifully brings to life the composer’s spiritual intent “to awaken and permanently instill religious feelings, not only in the singers, but also in the listeners.” Part of the Soli Deo Gloria Collection. For more information please visit:


Ludwig van Beethoven: Missa Solemnis in D Major, Op. 123

“Everything about the creation of this DVD was thrilling. We professionals who spend our lives
making music are blessed to do what we do. But it is not every day that we experience everything
coming together in a kind of perfection. This was that day.” John Nelson, conductor
“The Missa Solemnis, which Beethoven considered the crown of his music, may be the greatest
piece most listeners never hear.” Jan Swafford, composer and author

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
dts 5.1
Total running time
145 mins
Details running time
80 mins (Concert), 65 mins (Bonus)
English, French, German
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs