Back to Catalogue

Spira Mirabilis

Spira Mirabilis is an extraordinary new project drawing together some of Europe’s finest youngplayers. It offers a radical new approach to classical music making. Mostly in their 20s and 30s, these young musicians created a dimension in which to study, practice and perform symphonic repertoire together without the guide of a conductor. They were soon excited to discover that this different attitude also succeeded in breaking down many of the traditional barriers between performer and audience. The musical experiment developed by this group of committed musicians is the main theme of the documentary “La Spira”, which focuses on the ideal embedded in this manner of “playing music together” and follows the practice in the course of work sessions and scenes from collective life. Produced by Pierre-Olivier Bardet, Erica Barbiani and Elena Vera Tomasin


Robert Schumann: “Spring”, Symphony No. 1 Op. 38

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
131 mins
Details running time
88 mins (Documentary), 43 mins (Concert)
English, French, German, Italian
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs