Back to Catalogue

Classic Archive™: Murray Perahia

Murray Perahia
Academy of St. Martin in the Fields
Sir Neville Marriner

Murray Perahia has often been described as an aristocrat of the piano, and with good reason. There is, however, nothing exclusive or “intellectual”, let alone academic, about his playing. His commanding vision, like his supremely polished virtuosity, is complemented by a luminous intelligence and a poetic sensitivity which has been his trademark from the start, embracing equally the lyric and the epic – just as Beethoven did who combined the Classic and Romantic like no other. Perahia’s Beethoven, with its formal balance, crystalline textures, eloquent phrasing, unfailingly beautiful tone and spacious grasp of large-scale structure, allows us to eavesdrop on the development of a towering genius as he ushers in the birth of an era.


Piano Concerto No.1 in C major, Op.15; Piano Concerto No.2 in B flat major, Op.19; Piano Concerto No.3 in C minor, Op.37; Piano Concerto No.5 in E flat major, Op.73 "Emperor"

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
176 mins
Details running time
DVD 1: 103 mins; DVD 2: 73 mins
No. of discs