Back to Catalogue

An Argentinian Evening at the Teatro Colón

Michael Barenboim violin | Quinteto Real | César Salgán piano |
West-Eastern Divan Orchestra
Daniel Barenboim

On this remarkable evening at the Teatró Colon the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra and Daniel Barenboim celebrated the centennials of two extraordinary Argentinian musicians Alberto Ginastera and Horacio Salgán with Ginastera’s Violin Concerto and three Tango compositions by Salgán.


Alberto Ginastera: Violin Concerto, Op. 30

Alejandro Pugliese (Arr. Horacio Salgán): Recuerdo        

Alejandro Scarpino & Juan Caldarella (Arr. Horacio Salgán): Canaro en Paris        

Roberto Firpo (Arr. Horacio Salgán):  El amanecer        

Horatio Salgán: A Don Agustín Bardi; Aquellos tangos camperos;· A fuego lento        

Mariano Mores & Rodolfo M. Taboada (Arr. José Carli): El Firulete    

Barenboim and the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra present Ginastera’s Violin Concerto as well as three Tango compositions by Salgán with “solidity and agility”. (La Nación)

“Michael Barenboim makes it all sound easy, though, with performances spilling over with life and drama. Every work’s soul has been ignited and revealed, every second telling a story, all unmarred by a single glitch in intonation or articulation […] this is indisputably exciting playing across an indisputably effective programme.” (Gramophone)

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
Total running time
65 mins
No. of discs