Back to Catalogue

Pinchas Zukerman: Here to Make Music

Pincheas Zukerman violin
English Chamber Orchestra

When Pinchas Zukerman was twelve years old, it was already clear to Pablo Casals and Issac Stern that he might become one of the greatest violinists of all time.

From this came the idea to make, for the first time ever, a film which deliberately sets out to document the development of a really great musical talent from its beginnings to early maturity.

This film was shot over a period of seven years in Italy, Israel, Denmark, Germany, London and New York. It includes sound recordings of Pinchas Zukerman’s playing from the age of nine and filmed performances from the age of nineteen.
It also traces the development of Zukerman’s relationship with the English Chamber Orchestra, which drew him into conducting for the first time. 

He is filmed live on stage during actual performances, including his official New York début recital at Hunter College and one of his first concerts as a conductor with the English Chamber Orchestra, which took place in the Herkules Saal in Münich and caused a good deal of excitement (expected and unexpected).

The film includes music by J S Bach, H Wieniawsky, Mozart, Beethoven, Telemann, Schumann, Mendelssohn and Vivaldi. The artists include the English Chamber Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic, Leonard Bernstein, Zubin Mehta, Jacqueline du Pré, Itzhak Perlman, Daniel Barenboim, Walter Trampler and others.


Excerpts from J S Bach, H Wieniawsky, Mozart, Beethoven, Telemann, Schumann, Mendelssohn, Vivaldi

Award Nomination: International Emmy Nomination, New York, 1976


Prog. No.
Music genre
61 mins
Christopher Nupen
Allegro Films
Production year