Back to Catalogue

Carnegie Hall Opening Night 2006

Leif Ove Andsnes piano | Dorothea Röschmann soprano
The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst

The magic of Mozart takes center stage as pianist Leif Ove Andsnes and soprano Dorothea Röschmann join Franz Welser-Möst and The Cleveland Orchestra for an evening of Viennese favorites. The program includes Mozart's beloved “Piano Concerto No. 17, K. 453”, performed by acclaimed pianist and Multi-Grammy Award winner Leif Ove Andsnes, who is rapidly becoming known for his Mozart interpretations, and selections from the composer's opera “Le Nozze di Figaro” with soprano Dorothea Röschmann; the “Light Cavalry Overture” by Franz von Suppé; and to cap off the evening, “Artist's Life,” “Annen-Polka”, and the Overture to “Die Fledermaus” by the Waltz King, Johann Strauss Jr. Long considered one of America’s great orchestras, The Cleveland Orchestra stands today among the world’s most-revered symphonic ensembles.


Suppé: “Light Cavalry” Overture; Mozart Piano Concerto No. 17 K. 453; Arias from ”The Marriage of Figaro”; Strauss Jr.: “Artist's Life”, Waltz; “Annen” Polka; “Die Fledermaus” Overture


Prog. No.
Music genre
Orchestral Music
76 mins
Brian Large
Carnegie Hall and Thirteen/WNET New York
Production year