Back to Catalogue

Waldbühne 2018 - Simon Rattle & Magdalena Kožená

Magdalena Kožená Soprano
Berliner Philharmoniker
Simon Rattle

It is the end of an era: Sir Simon Rattle’s tenure as chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker ends after 16 years with this concert at the Waldbühne. Even if it is not without a tear in our eyes, it is a cheerful concert with vibrant works by Gershwin, Fauré, Khachaturian and Respighi. The star guest is Sir Simon’s wife, mezzo-soprano Magdalena Kožená, who sings excerpts from Joseph Canteloube’s charming Chants d’Auvergne.


Canteloube: Chants d’Auvergne (Selection) 

Elgar: Pomp and Circumstance, op. 39: March No. 1  

Fauré: Pavane

Gershwin: Cuban Overture

Khachaturian: Gayane Suite No. 1: No. 7 Adagio of Gayane, Gayane Suite No. 3: No. 2 Dance of the Young Kurds, Gayane Suite No. 1: No. 8 Lezginka

Lincke: Berliner Luft

Monteverdi: “Si dolce è’l tormento”, madrigal for solo voice and basso continuo, SV 332 

Philip: The Liberty Bell

Respighi: Pini di Roma


Prog. No.
Music genre
Orchestral Music
105 mins
Henning Kasten
EuroArts, rbb in coproduction with CCTV, China in cooperation with Mezzo
Production year