Back to Catalogue

In Exile – of Gods and Men: A Concert Film Trilogy, Episode 1

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Robin Ticciati

The motto called "IN EXILE – OF GODS AND MEN" connects ancient mythology, the Renaissance and the present: The Friedrichswerdersche Church, which was re-opened in October for museum exhibitions but had to close again right away due to the pandemic, is a meeting place for the arts with its collection of 19th century sculptures. This is where the film begins with Gabrieli’s "Canzon in echo duodecimi toni à 10". A counterpoint to Mozart's Jupiter Symphony on gut strings and natural trumpets resounds with Britten's "Metamorphoses" - from the middle of the forest. At Sisyphos techno club, principal conductor Robin Ticciati and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin interpret Ondřej Adámek’s "Dusty Rusty Hush" – a piece that the Berlin-based Czech composed on the occasion of the shutdown of a factory and the DSO is now using to call attention to the present desperate situation of the Berlin club scene.


Giovanni Gabrieli: "Canzon in echo duodecimi toni à 10" for Brass Player Ensemble
Igor Stravinsky: "Apollon musagète" – Ballet for String Orchestra
Ondřej Adámek: "Coups d’ailes" for Brass Player Octet and Space


Prog. No.
Music genre
Orchestral Music
42 mins
Frederic Wake-Walker
sounding images
Production year