Back to Catalogue

Trio Zadig: The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

Trio Zadig: Ian Barber piano | Boris Borgolotto violin | Marc Girard Garica cello

Astor Piazzollas "Estaciones Porteñas" (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires) is a set of four tango compositions performed by the Trio Zadig at the Maison Nougaro in Toulouse.

We propose a journey to the heart of South America and the musical filiation, in Argentina to be precise, with the inventor of Tango Nuevo, Astor Piazzolla.

Piazzolla's Four Seasons of Buenos Aires echo the work of Vivaldi. To the pastoral seasons of the Venetian master, the king of tango contrasts the urban life of the famous Argentine capital... Antonio Vivaldi was a violin virtuoso. His Four Seasons astounded his contemporaries with the incredible effects he achieved with the instrument. Two centuries later, the Argentinian Astor Piazzolla seized the Vivaldian fascination and added the rhythms of his nuevo tango. For both, winter is adorned with shivering colours and summer with a torrid languor.


Astor Piazzolla: The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires


Prog. No.
Music genre
Chamber Music
30 mins
Patrick Lauze
Les Films Figures Libres & Maison Nougaro
Production year