Back to Catalogue

David Oistrakh Cycle (The) - Part 1

David Oistrakh violin | Frieda Bauer piano
Berlin Radio Orchestra, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra
Hermann Abendroth, Gennady Rozhdestvensky

David Oistrakh is one of those rare legendary musicians whose art of playing continues to influence violinists until today. On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of his birthday, medici arts/Idéale Audience releases two series of concert films and a wonderful personal documentary. Born in September 1908, the Soviet-Russian violinist published numerous recordings and copious compositions were dedicated to him, most notably two violin concerti by Dmitri Shostakovich and the more popular one by Aram Khachaturian. In his lifetime, he was a champion of contemporary Soviet music, but he was also famous as performer of classical concerti all over the world. He died in 1974 but his name is still known to all classical music lovers. Beethoven - Concerto for Violin and Orchestra Opus 61 (excerpt) 1952 - East Berlin Opera - Berlin Radio Orchestra conducted by Hermann Abendroth Brahms- Violin Concerto Opus 77 1966 - Tchaikovsky Hall, Moscow Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by G. Rozhdestvensky Schubert - « Valse - Caprice » 1972 - Moscow Conservatory - Frieda Bauer, piano


Beethoven: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra Opus 61 (excerpt); Brahms: Violin Concerto Opus 77; Schubert - « Valse - Caprice »


Prog. No.
Music genre
Orchestral Music
52 mins
Bruno Monsaingeon
Euripide Productions
Production year