Back to Catalogue

Classic Archive 008 - Colin Davis

Colin Davis conductor
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Colin Davis

This episode of Classic Archive is devoted to famed British conductor Sir Colin Davis. A former clarinet player, Sir Colin here conducts a polished BBC Orchestra performance of Ludwig Van Beethoven’s " Symphony n°3 in E flat minor (Eroica) " at London’s Royal Festival Hall, in 1967. His version combines an elegant mastery with a phrasing redolent of the German genius’ bubbling passion. One could almost say that Colin Davis’ repertoire stretches as far as the British Empire. Aside from English composers (Benjamin Britten, Sir Michael Tippett…) Colin Davis has also extensively performed works by Sibelius, Berlioz, Mozart, Stravinsky and Haendel.


Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 in E flat Major "Eroica", Op. 55


Prog. No.
Music genre
Classic Archive
56 mins
Philippe Truffault
Idéale Audience
Production year