Back to Catalogue

Conductors – Bernard Haitink - Retrospective

Christine Schäfer soprano | Sylvia McNair soprano | Jard van Nes alto solo | Florence Quivar alto | Frank Peter Zimmermann violin | Isabelle Faust violin | Emanuel Ax piano | Ernst Senff Chor | Tölzer Knabenchor
Berliner Philharmoniker
Bernard Haitink

“It is a very special art of conducting. One must try to embrace the musicians.” (Bernard Haitink)

On 6 September 2019, Bernard Haitink bowed before his audience for the last time: after 65 years on the podium, the 90-year-old exceptional conductor ended his career. This DVD edition is dedicated to the exceptional conductor Bernard Haitink and includes some of his most outstanding concerts with the Berliner Philharmoniker

DVD 1: Bernard Haitink: It comes my way – Portrait of a conductor

DVD 2: Mahler Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2 

DVD 3: Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 3 

DVD 4: Mahler Symphonies Nos. 4 & 7 

DVD 5: Europakonzert 1993 from the Royal Albert Hall in London

DVD 6: Europakonzert 1999 from Krakow 

DVD 7: Easter Concert in Baden-Baden 2015 


Mahler: Symphony No. 1; Symphony No. 2; Symphony No. 3; Symphony No. 4; Symphony No. 7

Tchaikovsky: Fantasy Overture from "Roméo et Juliette" 

Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major K. 216; Exsultate, jubilate KV 165 & Et incarnatus est from "Great Mass"  

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring     

Chopin: Concert for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in F minor, op. 21

Schumann: Symphony No. 1 in B flat major, op 38

van Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61 ∙ Symphony No. 6 in F major, op. 68 “Pastoral”

ICMA Nomination 2022

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9 & 4:3
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
730 mins
Details running time
DVD 1: 49mins; DVD 2: 153; DVD 3: 63mins; DVD 4: 190mins; DVD 5: 90mins; DVD 6: 95mins; DVD 7: 90mins
Documentary in Dutch/English with subtitles in DE, GB, JP, KR
No. of discs