Back to Catalogue

Gala From Berlin Grand Finales

Berliner Philharmoniker, Klaus Maria Brandauer, Rias Kammerchor, Rundfunkchor Berlin
Claudio Abbado

The Berliner Philharmoniker celebrate the last day of the 20th century with Grand Finales in the first part of this extraordinary concert, and herald the leap into the 21st century with an explosion of sparkling music in the second half of the programme. For the Grand Finales, Claudio Abbado conducts masterpieces like the final movement of Beethoven’s 7th Symphony, excerpts from Stravinsky’s Firebird and the last movement of Mahler’s 5th Symphony. The world-famous actor Klaus Maria Brandauer narrates from Arnold Schoenberg’s Gurrelieder.


Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 Op.92 (Allegro con brio) – Antonìn Dvořák: Symphony No.8 Op.88 (Allegro non troppo) – Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.5 (Rondo Finale) – Igor Stravinsky: Excerpts from Firebird – Maurice Ravel: Daphnis et chloé (Danse générale) – Sergei Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky Op.78 (Alexander’s entry into Pskov) – Arnold Schönberg: Gurre-Lieder (“Seht die Sonne”) – Paul Lincke: Grigri (Overture, Flies), Bergères (March, Brandbrief-Galopp, Berliner Luft) – Siegfried Translateur: Sportpalast-Walzer – Ernst Fischer: Sparkling Champagne – Otto Nicolai The Merry Wives Of Windsor (Overture) – Walter Kollo: “Solang noch unter’n Linden”

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
108 mins
Booklet notes
English, German, French
No. of discs