Back to Catalogue

Mozart: Great Piano Concertos Vol. I

Mitsuko Uchida piano | Homero Francesch piano
Mozarteum Orchester, Salzburg; Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie
Jeffrey Tate, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Gerd Albrecht

Euroarts releases a four-volume edition of Mozart’s most significant piano concertos in celebration of his 250th birthday in 2006. Mozart, who composed 21 piano concerti, can be regarded as the “inventor” of the popular piano concerto. Although J.S. Bach and his son had written numerous concerti for harpsichord or fortepiano and orchestra before him, Mozart’s enormous input to the genre is mostly due to his concerti being regarded as ‘popular music’ by his contemporaries: to be enjoyed and quickly replaced by newer works. For this series on four DVDs, the most influential, the most artistically challenging and the most popular piano concerti have been selected to be performed by the best Mozart interpreters of our time. Volume I features pianists Mitsuko Uchida, Vladimir Ashkenazy and Homero Francesch each performing a concerto representing a different stage in Mozart's life. The performances on this DVD were shot in highly attractive baroque venues – at the Mozarteum, Salzburg, in Hampton Court Palace, London and in the Christian-Zais-Saal, Wiesbaden – capturing the atmosphere of a performance in Mozart’s lifetime.


W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No.9, K.271 in E flat major "Jeunehomme", Piano Concerto No.12, K.414in A major, Piano Concerto No.26, K.537 in D major "Coronation"

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
95 mins
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs