Back to Catalogue

Mozart: Great Piano Concertos Vol. III

Christian Zacharias piano | Radu Lupu piano
Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart; Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie
Gianluigi Gelmetti, David Zinman, Jirí Belohlávek

EuroArts releases a four-volume edition of Mozart’s most significant piano concertos in celebration of his 250th birthday in 2006. Mozart, who composed 21 piano concerti, can be regarded as the “inventor” of the popular piano concerto. Although J.S. Bach and his son had written numerous concerti for harpsichord or fortepiano and orchestra before him, Mozart’s enormous input to the genre is mostly due to his concerti being regarded as ‘popular music’ by his contemporaries: to be enjoyed and quickly replaced by newer works. For this series on four DVDs, the most influential, the most artistically challenging and the most popular piano concerti have been selected to be performed by the best Mozart interpreters of our time. Volume III features pianists Radu Lupu, Christian Zacharias and Ivan Klánský performing Mozart’s piano concerti Nos. 6. 19 and 20 in highly attractive venues – at the Rococo Schwetzingen Palace in the Southwest of Germany, the reconstructed Sophiensaal in Munich and the Rittersaal of Palais Waldstein in Prague.


W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No.6, K.238 in B flat major, Piano Concerto No.19, K.459 in F major, Piano Concerto No.20, K.466 in D minor

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
80 mins
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs