Back to Catalogue

Abbado conducts Mahler & Schönberg

Juliane Banse
Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester
Claudio Abbado

The re-release in Blu-ray Disc will be available from May 2013. “Together with conductor Claudio Abbado, the cream of young European musicians who make up this outstanding orchestra infused the symphony with a luminosity that glowed with an inner brilliance.” La Stampa What makes Abbado’s Mahler performances so remarkable is that their impact is never achieved at the expense of the multiple sensitivities, subtleties and extreme sophistication. Together with one of the world’s leading youth orchestras – the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester – Abbado performs Mahler’s Fourth Symphony and Schoenberg’s Pelleas und Melisande, the latter being preceded by an introduction that offers fascinating insights into this unparalleled composition.


Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.4, in G Major Arnold Schoenberg: Pelleas und Melisande op.5

Editor's Choice in the Oct 09 issue of Classic FM
Magazine, BBC Music Choice in the Oct 09 issue of BBC
Music Magazine

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
113 mins
English, French, German
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs