Back to Catalogue

Bach: The Motets performed by RIAS Kammerchor

Rias Kammerchor | Stephanie Petitlaurent soprano | Waltraud Heinrich alto | Susanne Langner alto | Volker Arndt tenor | Christian Mücke tenor | Johannes D.Schendel bass
Akademie für alte Musik Berlin
Hans-Christoph Rademann

Under the baton of the new chief conductor Hans-Christoph Rademann, the RIAS Kammerchor and the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin are performing popular Motets by Johann Sebastian Bach, interspersed with fine instrumental works of the composer. Founded in 1948, the choir enjoys today a worldwide reputation as one of the best ensembles of its kind.  
This performance allows to experience the full grandeur of five Bach motets included in this audio release: the chorale-like simplicity of these works, notably in a number of the movements from Jesu, meine Freude, emerges as emphatically as do the dense polyphonic textures of Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied and the vivid word-setting and rhythmic drive, more especially in a work like Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf. Hans-Christoph Rademann and the RIAS Chamber Choir successfully reconcile all these different layers and provide benchmark readings of these motets, offering us a view of Bach
for the 21st century. 


Bach: Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf, BWV 226; Wir müssen durch viel Trübsal, BWV 146: 1. Sinfonia; Ich lasse dich nicht, du segnest mich denn, BWV 1165; Geist und Seele wird verwirret, BWV 35: 1. Sinfonia; Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 227; Ich habe meine Zuversicht, BWV 188: 1. Sinfonia; Fürchte dich nicht, ich bin bei dir, BWV 228; Gott soll allein mein Herze haben, BWV 169: 1. Sinfonia; Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 225

Facts Digital

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
92 mins