Back to Catalogue

A Surprise In Texas, The 13th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition

Nobuyuki Tsujii, Haochen Zhang, Yeol Eum Son
Takács Quartet, Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra
James Conlon

Twenty-nine of the world’s best young pianists converged in Fort Worth, Texas in May 2009 for a once in a lifetime chance at gold in the Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Contest. Emmywinning director Peter Rosen follows these distinctive personalities during a rigorous three-week competition – through intense rehearsals, introspective moments, preconcert rituals, and endearing celebrations. Hailing from 14 countries, competitors were welcomed with Texas-sized hospitality by their host families and immersed in a city best characterized by “Cowboys and Culture.” With the performances of Chopin, Liszt, Beethoven, and Rachmaninov and other piano masterpieces setting the impassioned tone, the result is an intricate inside view into the world’s most prestigious piano competition and a heartwarming story that proves to be a momentous Surprise in Texas.

ECHO Klassik 2011: DVD Production of the Year

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
140 mins
Details running time
92 mins (Documentary), 48 mins (Bonus)
French, German
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs
Bonus: Concert excerpts of the medalists:
Nobuyuki Tsujii (Bass Gold Medal): Franz Liszt: La Campanella · Hungarian Rhapsody
Haochen Zhang (Bass Gold Medal): Igor Stravinsky: Three Movements from “Petrushka“
Yeol Eum Son (Silver Medal): Franz Liszt: Rhapsodie Espagnole