Back to Catalogue

Fauré: Requiem – Paavo Järvi & L’Orchestre de Paris

Chen Reiss (soprano), Matthias Goerne (baritone), Eric Picard (cello), Philippe Aïche (violin)
Orchestre De Paris; Choeur De L’orchestre De Paris, Stephen Betteridge, chorus director
Paavo Järvi

Baritone Matthias Goerne, soprano Chen Reiss, cellist Eric Picard and violinist Philippe Aïche come together at Paris’s renowned Salle Pleyel for a concert of Fauré’s works for chorus and orchestra. They are joined by the Orchestre de Paris under the baton of its new musical director, the GRAMMY Awardwinning conductor Paavo Järvi. Central to the programme is Fauré’s profound and graceful Requiem, which is complemented by the Cantique de Jean Racine and the rarely performed psalm-setting Super flumina Babylonis, all beautifully sung by the Choeur de l’Orchestre de Paris, and imbued with a delicate intensity by Järvi. With the expressive Élégie for cello and orchestra, this is a luxurious all-Fauré event. The program will also be released on Blu-ray Disc in April 2012.


Gabriel Fauré: Requiem, Pavane, Élégie Super flumina Babylonis, Cantique de Jean Racine

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
85 mins
Details running time
72 mins (Performance), 13 mins (Bonus)
English, French, German, Latin
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs
Interview with Paavo Järvi
Bonus subtitles
no subtitles