Back to Catalogue

Die 12 Cellisten der Berliner Philharmoniker · Anniversary Edition

Die 12 Cellisten der Berliner Philharmoniker, Ludwig Quandt, Martin Löhr, Olaf Maninger , Richard Duven, Rachel Helleur, Christoph Igelbrink, Solène Kermarrec , Stephan Koncz, Martin Menking , David Riniker, Nikolaus Römisch, Dietmar Schwalke, Knut Weber, Special guests: Annette Dasch, Till Brönner

They are one-of-a-kind and they are known all over the world: the 12 Cellisten der Berliner Philharmoniker (the Twelve Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic). Their concerts offer the audience the chance to experience the ensemble’s instrumental mastery, the broad spectrum of its repertoire, as well as the stunning tonal variety produced by its individual musicians. On the occasion of their 40th anniversary, the group presented highlights of its program to an enthusiastic audience at the Berlin Philharmonic, supported by world class guest artists, Annette Dasch (soprano) and Till Brönner (trumpet). This Anniversary Edition offers the viewer the chance to experience not only a superb concert but also an exciting documentary chronicling the history of this fascinating group of musicians.


Julius Klengel: Hymnus, Jean Françaix: Aubade, Astor Piazzolla: Suite del angel, Henri Bourtayre / Maurice Vandair: Fleur de Paris, Gabriel Fauré: Pavane op. 50, Vincent Baptiste Scotto: Sous les ponts de Paris, Michel Legrand: Une femme est une femme, Herman Hupfeld: As time goes by, Claude Debussy: L’âme évaporée, Les cloches (Annette Dasch, soprano), Maurice Ravel: Vocalise-Étude en forme de Habanera (Annette Dasch, soprano), Ennio Morricone: The man with the harmonica, Juan Tizol / Duke Ellington: Caravan, Astor Piazzolla: Fuga y misterio, Edith Piaf: La Vie en Rose, Wilhelm Kaiser-Lindemann: Bossa-Nova for 12, Thelenious Monk: Round Midnight (Till Brönner, trumpet), The Beatles: Yesterday

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
dts 5.1
Total running time
164 mins
Details running time
105 mins (Concert), 59 mins (Documentary)
English, Chinese, Japanese
Booklet notes
Chinese, English, German, Japanese
No. of discs