Back to Catalogue

Antonín Dvořák – Requiem Op. 89

Ilse Eerens soprano | Bernarda Fink alto | Maximilian Schmitt tenor | Nathan Berg bass
Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, Collegium Vocale Gent
Philippe Herreweghe

Philippe Herreweghe, principal conductor of the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, has devoted himself for over ten years to fresh and invigorating readings of the (pre-)Romantic repertoire. Together with the Collegium Vocale Gent, founded in 1970 by Philippe Herreweghe himself, and superb soloists, they perform Dvořák's magnificent Requiem.


Antonín Dvořák: Requiem, Op. 89

"When I have seen Philippe Herreweghe conduct I have always been left with the memory of his sensitive musicianship. […] Everything is wonderfully managed under Herreweghe who lets the music unfold naturally rather than driving a more starkly dramatic approach. […] The pliable voices of the soloists are agreeably contrasted and eminently secure. […] Dedicated and impeccably prepared Collegium Vocale Gent cannot be faulted. […] The Royal Flemish Philharmonic [now: Antwerp Symphony Orchestra] plays with lyrical warmth and produces satisfyingly glowing climaxes without ever being in fear of overpowering the vocalists. Not just an early-music specialist, Philippe Herreweghe conducts with a persuasive and moving sense of sacred expression in this rewarding Dvořák Requiem."
MusicWeb International

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
97 mins
English, German, French, Spanish, Latin
Booklet notes
No. of discs