Back to Catalogue

Jean-Philippe Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie

Anna Prohaska Aricie | Magdalena Kožená Phèdre | Elsa Dreisig Diane | Reinoud Van Mechelen Hippolyte | Gyula Orendt Thésée | Peter Rose, Pluto, Jupiter | Roman Trekel Tisiphone
Freiburg Baroque Orchestra & State Opera Choir
Sir Simon Rattle

Sir Simon Rattle conducts the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra & State Opera Choir

The French Baroque opera Hippolyte et Aricie carries its audience away into a world of wonder with magnificent dance and choir scenes and an astonishing variety of musical forms.

Jean-Philippe Rameau, a French contemporary of Bach and Handel, revolutionised the music of his time with radically novel, sometimes dissonant harmonics, extraordinarily colourful and complex orchestral movements, diverse rhythms and dramatic intensity.

Ólafur Elíasson, who created the set design for the opera Phaedra and the ballet Tree of Codes, is responsible for the set and costume design. In his art, he deconstructs natural phenomena and reimagines them with the use of colour, light, reflections and motion. Elíasson never approaches a work of art as an autonomous entity, but instead seeks to engage in a mutual dialogue with the audience.


Hippolyte et Aricie, Tragédie lyrique in five acts (1733/1757), music by Jean-Philippe Rameau, libretto by Simon-Joseph Pellegrin after the tragedie »Phèdre« by Jean Racine, 3rd version from 1757, with selected passages from the 1st version from 1733

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
153 mins
German, English, French, Japanese, Korean
No. of discs
December 2018