Back to Catalogue

Fall of the Berlin Wall – A musical journey with Leonard Bernstein and Kurt Masur

Frank-Michael Erben violin | Harald Schmidt host and soloist | Jan-Hendrik Rootering bass | June Anderson soprano | Klaus König tenor | Sarah Walker mezzo-soprano
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig | Members of Staatskapelle Dresden | Orchestra of the Kirov Theatre, Leningrad (now the Orchestra of the Mariinsky Theatre St. Petersburg) | London Symphony Orchestra | New York Philharmonic | Orchestre de Paris
Kurt Masur | Leonard Bernstein

The Fall of the Berlin Wall on November 9, 1989 unleashed a wave of democratisation in Central and Eastern Europe that radically transformed the world order.

This exclusive DVD box is being released in celebration of the 30th anniversary of the Fall of the Berlin Wall. Kurt Masur is not only renowned for being one of the greatest conductors but also for his significant role during the Peaceful Revolution in Germany and the Fall of the Wall in 1989. This DVD box includes two documentaries about Kurt Masur’s role during the Peaceful Revolution and three of his legendary concert performances.

Including the historic Leonard Bernstein concert “Ode to Freedom” in Berlin in celebration of the Fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989. The documentary The Berlin Kroll Opera House – The Middle of Germany produced by Jörg Moser-Metius (winner of the Silver Bear at the Berlin International Film Festival) tells the remarkable story of the famous Kroll Opera House via historical footage and eyewitness reports while drawing important connections to the present day. The film captures the architectural, political and social developments at the centre of Berlin as a place where “German history became manifest".


Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition

Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 in A Major, Op. 90 “Italian”; “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” (Overture and Wedding March); Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in E minor, Op. 64; Symphony No. 3 in A minor “Scottish”

Nicolai: The Merry Wives of Windsor (Overture)

Moniuszko: Halka (Mazurka)

Brahms: Liebeslieder Walzer (No. 11 and 8)

Dvořák: Slavonic Dance in E minor, Op. 72, No. 2

Tchaikovsky: Capriccio italien, Op. 45

Bernstein: West Side Story (Mambo)

Gershwin: Porgy and Bess (excerpts)

Dukas: L’Apprenti sorcier

Bizet: Carmen (Prélude)

Jobim: The Girl from Ipanema

Beethoven: Symphony No. 9

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9 & 4:3
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
516 mins
No. of discs