Back to Catalogue

Conductors - Zubin Mehta - Retrospective

David Breidenthal bassoon | Daniel Barenboim piano | Evgeny Kissin piano | Julian Rachlin violin | Vadim Repin violin | Yefim Bronfman piano | Chen Reiss soprano | Okka von der Damerau mezzo-soprano | Rundfunkchor Berlin | Coro del Festival Verdi | Philharmonia Chor Wien | Béjart Ballet Lausanne | The Tokyo Ballet
Los Angeles Philharmonic; Berliner Philharmoniker; Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino; Israel Philharmonic Orchestra; Wiener Philharmoniker
Zubin Mehta

“I cannot begin even to describe what I have learnt with these musicians. Maybe they have learnt a little something from me, but that is nothing compared to what I have learnt from them, and the generations that came before.” (Zubin Mehta about the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra)

DVD 1: Zubin Mehta conducts Bartók, Dvořák and Mozart in Los Angeles 

DVD 2: St. Petersburg Night  - Waldbühne 1997 

DVD 3: Gran Gala di Verdi 

DVD 4: 75th Anniversary Concert of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

DVD 5: Verdi: Falstaff from the Salzburger Festspiele 

DVD 6: The Ninth Symphony - On Schiller's Ode to Joy - Choreography by Maurice Béjart 

DVD 7: Farewell Concert


Mozart: Concerto for Bassoon and Orchestra in B flat major, K.191 

Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra, Sz116; Dvořák: Concert Overture “Carnival”, Op.92, Symphony No.8 in G major, Op.88, Slavonic Dance in G minor, Op.46, No.8, Slavonic Dances, Op 72, No 2 in E minor for piano for four hands

Glinka: Overture from “Ruslan and Ludmila”

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor, Op. 23, Waltz from “The Swan Lake”

Chopin: Waltz in D flat major, Op. 64, No. 1, Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11 

Mussorgsky: Prelude from “Khovanshchina”, Gopak from “The Fair at Sorochintsi“ 

Rimsky-Korsakov: Flight of the Bumblebee, Capriccio espagnol, Op. 34 

Prokofiev: Death of Tybalt from “Romeo and Juliet”

Lincke: Berliner Luft

Verdi: excerpts from Nabucco, Jérusalem, Il corsaro, Rigoletto, Il trovatore, La traviata, Un ballo in maschera, La forza del destino, Don Carlo, Aida, Otello, Falstaff, Nabucco; Falstaff 

Saint-Saëns: Introduction et Rondo Capriccioso in A minor, Op. 28

J. S. Bach: Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004: Sarabande 

Chausson: Poème, Op. 25

van Beethoven: Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93, Symphony No. 9 in D minor, On Schiller’s Ode to Joy 

Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 2 in A Major, S. 125; Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C minor “Resurrection”

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9 & 4:3
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
826 mins
Details running time
DVD 1: 110 mins; DVD 2: 96 mins; DVD 3: 182 mins; DVD 4: 95 mins; DVD 5: 125 mins; DVD 6: 88 mins; DVD 7: 130 mins
No. of discs
1977, 1997, 2001, 2011, 2013, 2104
DVD 7: Interview with Zubin Mehta
Bonus subtitles