Back to Catalogue

Beethoven 9 x 9th Symphony

Members of Staatskapelle Dresden
RTF National Orchestra, New Philharmonic Orchestra, Berliner Philharmoniker, Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Orchestra of the Kirov Theatre, London Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Orchestre de Paris , SWR Sinfonieorchester, West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Jascha Horenstein, Otto Klemperer, Herbert von Karajan, Leonard Bernstein, Michael Gielen, Claudio Abbado, Zubin Mehta, Fabio Luisi

Is there a more iconic work than Beethoven’s 9th Symphony? Composed between 1822 and 1824, it is one of the most performed symphonies in the world and many critics regard it as Beethoven’s greatest work. In celebration of Beethoven’s 250th anniversary we offer a nine DVD box set featuring nine legendary performances of this masterpiece, including much-lauded recordings such as Leonard Bernsteins “Ode to Freedom” concert in celebration of the Fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 and the Berliner Philharmoniker’s Europakonzert 2000 under the baton of Claudio Abbado.


DVD 1: Jascha Horenstein, RTF National Orchestra (1963)  
DVD 2: Otto Klemperer, New Philharmonic Orchestra (1964) 
DVD 3: Herbert von Karajan, Berliner Philharmoniker (1977) 
DVD 4: Leonard Bernstein, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Members of Staatskapelle Dresden, Orchestra of the Kirov Theatre, London Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Orchestre de Paris (1989 „Ode to Freedom“) 
DVD 5: Michael Gielen, SWR Sinfonieorchester (1999) 
DVD 6: Claudio Abbado, Berliner Philharmoniker (2000) 
DVD 7: Daniel Barenboim, West-Eastern Divan Orchestra (2006) 
DVD 8: Zubin Mehta, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra (2014)
DVD 9: Fabio Luisi, Danish National Symphony Orchestra (2019)


Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9 & 4:3
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
710 mins
Details running time
DVD 1: 55mins; DVD 2: 80mins; DVD 3: 70mins; DVD 4: 94mins; DVD 5: 141mins; DVD 6: 68mins; DVD 7: 96mins; DVD 8: 88mins; DVD 9: 69mins
English, German, French, Italian, Spanish (partly Japanese, Korean)
No. of discs
1963 - 2019