Back to Catalogue

Conductors – Mariss Jansons - Retrospective

Mikhail Rudy piano | Emmanuel Pahud flute | Vadim Repin violin | Nina Stemme soprano | Andreas Ottensamer clarinet |
Berliner Philharmoniker, Wiener Philharmoniker
Mariss Jansons

Those lucky enough to have seen Mariss Jansons in concert could immediately perceive his unconditional dedication to music: The light in his eyes, his sweeping yet precise gestures, his tense, half-open mouth and his raised eyebrows. He conducted with everything: his body, his soul, his heart and his reason.
This Mariss Jansons edition offers insights into the work of one of the greatest conductors of our time and features the Berlin Philharmonic and the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra.

DVD 1    Berliner Philharmoniker ∙ Waldbühne 1994 ∙ A Night of Dances and Rhapsodies 
DVD 2    The Berliner Philharmoniker in Tokyo ∙ Concert at the Suntory Hall, 2000 
DVD 3    Berliner Philharmoniker ∙ EUROPAKONZERT from Istanbul 2001 
DVD 4    Berliner Philharmoniker ∙ Waldbühne 2002 ∙ World Encores
DVD 5    Salzburg Festival 2012 ∙ Wiener Philharmoniker ∙ Nina Stemme
DVD 6    Berliner Philharmoniker ∙ EUROPAKONZERT 2017 from Cyprus 


Suppé: Leichte Kavallerie: Overture  

Schubert / Liszt: Wanderer-Fantasie

Enescu: Romanian Rhapsody No. 1

Smetana: Die verkaufte Braut: Overture     

R. Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier: Waltzes; Don Juan 

J. Strauss: Die Fledermaus: Overture; Unter Donner und Blitz, Polka; Radetzky-Marsch        

Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2  

Brahms: Hungarian Dance No. 5; Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68        

von Weber: Overture to Oberon; Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F minor, Op. 73 

Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 99

J. S. Bach: Sonata No. 1 for solo violin, BWV 1001 (Presto)

Dvorák: Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88; Slavonic Dance, Op. 72 No. 7 in C major

Haydn: Symphony No. 94 in G Major (Surprise/Mit dem Paukenschlag)  

Mozart: Concerto for Flute, D Major, K. 314

Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique op. 14

Moniuszko: Mazurka from “Halka”

Wieniawski: Polonaise

Tchaikovsky: Mélodie · Valse-Scherzo Pas de deux from The Nutcracker  

Chapí: Overture from “La revoltosa”

Kim: Elegy  

Lumbye: Champagne Galop

Toyama: Dance of the Celestials

Sibelius: Valse triste 

Elgar: Wild Bears  

Wagner: Prelude to Act III from “Lohengrin”; Wesendonck-Lieder  

Kreisler: Tambourin chinois  

Gardel/Williams: Por una cabeza

Paganini: Il carnevale di Venezia

Ziehrer: Wiener Bürger

Mascagani: Intermezzo from “Cavalleria Rusticana” 

Bizet: Farandole from “L’Arlésienne” 

Massenet: Aragonaise & Navarraise, from “Le Cid” 

Koncz: Hungarian Fantasy on Themes by Carl Maria von Weber

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
633 mins
Details running time
DVD 1: 100mins; DVD 2: 99mins; DVD 3: 104mins; DVD 4: 116mins; DVD 5: 95mins; DVD 6: 89mins
Booklet notes
English, German
No. of discs