Back to Catalogue

Belcea Quartet: Beethoven - The Complete String Quartets - Plus Documentary

Corina Belcea violin | Axel Schacher violin | Krzysztof Chorzelski viola | Antoine Lederlin cello
Belcea Quartet

With his sixteen string quartets, Beethoven forged the backbone of this repertoire. The six quartets Opus 18 show the composer’s mastery of the classical form. In contrast, the five middle quartets burst this form, with a very free treatment of the instruments and their development. Most profoundly and spiritual, the late quartets went far beyond what people were ready to hear at that time and are still intellectually challenging. The Belcea Quartet is well-known for its dynamic and compelling interpretations. The Quartet embarked on the complete cycle of Beethoven string quartets, playing the whole program within twelve days and brings a freshness to their interpretation of Beethoven’s string quartets, and draws forth a great range of colours, from sweetness to strength, from solemnity to impetuous force. Including the documentary "On the Paths of the Beethoven String Quartets", directed by Jean Claude Mocik.

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
567 mins
Details running time
522 mins, 45 mins (Documentary)
English, French, German
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs