Back to Catalogue

Midsummer Night’s Gala 2016 from Grafenegg

Olga Peretyatko soprano | Bryn Terfel baritone | Rudolf Buchbinder piano
Yutaka Sado

World stars of classical music take to the stage of the extraordinary, sculpture-like Wolkenturm amphitheatre. Situated in the Wachau, one of Austria’s most beautiful regions, and located on the stunning grounds of Castle Grafenegg, the unique location offers a special concert experience for music and architecture fans alike, making this festival one of the most spectacular classical concert destinations worldwide. Grafenegg is celebrating its 10th birthday. Past, present and future come together in the Midsummer Night’s Gala jubilee. Having won over the audience at the very first Gala with his deeply resonant voice, Welsh bass-baritone Bryn Terfel is joined in 2016 by the young Russian coloratura soprano Olga Peretyatko. Pianist and Artistic Director of Grafenegg, Rudolf Buchbinder, joins the celebrations at the piano. As is tradition, this atmospheric evening concludes with a firework display accompanied by Edward Elgar’s Pomp and Circumstance.


Charles Gounod: Overture from Mireille, „O légère hirondelle“ from Mireille, „Le veau d’or“ from Faust
Georges Bizet: „Ouvre ton coeur“ from Vasco de Gama
Carl Maria von Weber: “Aufforderung zum Tanz”
Giuseppe Verdi: „Credo in un Dio crudel“ from Otello
Gaetano Donizetti: “O luce di quest’anima” from Linda di Chamounix, “Quanto amore” from L’elisir d’amore
Jacques Offenbach: Overture from La vie parisienne
Mitch Leigh: “The impossible dream“ from Man of La Mancha
Franz Lehár: “Lippen schweigen” from The Merry Widow
Edward Elgar: Pomp and Circumstance, March No. 1

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Dolby Digital 5.1
dts 5.1
Total running time
90 mins
No. of discs