Back to Catalogue

Classic Archive™: Celebrating Strauss

Celebrating Strauss brings into focus the greatest interpreters of Richard Strauss’s compositions. These jewels of music broadcasting have been salvaged from various archives and been made accessible for home viewing audiences uniting appealing and enjoyable performances by legendary artists as Irmgard Seefried, Hertha Töpper, Rita Streich and Elisabeth Schwarzkopf. Lovingly restored and digitally remastered the Classic Archive™ series offers a unique glimpse into our classical heritage featuring performances by celebrated artists of the past including complete full-lengths programmes and comprehensive booklet information.


Rita Streich, Janine Reiss, 1965 Schlechtes Wetter, Op.69 No.5; Elisabeth Schwarzkopf · Gerald Moore, 1970 Morgen, Op.27/4 · Mein Vater hat gesagt, Op.36/3; Elisabeth Schwarzkopf · Berislav Klobucar, 1967 Ruhe, meine Seele, Op.27/1 Meinem Kinde, Op. 37/3 · Muttertändelei, Op.43/2 · Zueignung, Op.10/1 · Waldseligkeit, Op.49/1; Elisabeth Schwarzkopf · Hertha Töpper · Charles Mackerras · Rosenkavalier („Kann mich auch an ein Mädel erinnern); Irmgard Seeefried · Piero Bellugi · Orchestre National de l’ORTF 1965 Morgen! Op. 27 Nr.4 · Wiegenlied, Op. 41 Nr.1 · Traum durch die Dämmerung, Op. 29 Nr.1 Zueignung, Op. 10 Nr.1 · Ständchen, Op. 17 Nr.2;

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Picture format
NTSC 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
60 mins
English, French, German
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs