Back to Catalogue

Classic Archive™: Martha Argerich

Martha Argerich piano
London Symphony Orchestra (Prokofiev)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra (Tchaikovsky)
André Previn (Prokofiev)
Sir Charles Groves (Tchaikovsky)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Charles Groves, André Previn

The Classic Archive collection presents two unreleased performances filmed by BBC television in 1977: celebrated pianist Martha Argerich plays Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3. and the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1. Both pieces are technically demanding and prove to be an ideal vehicle for Argerich’s musical inspiration, demonstrating why she is hailed as one of the world’s leading musicians. She is joined by the London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by André Previn, and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, under the baton of Sir Charles Groves, in two powerhouse performances that offer a unique glimpse into our classical music heritage.


Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26 Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor, Op. 23

Facts DVD

Item number
UPC number
Region code
Sound format
PCM Stereo
Total running time
62 mins
Booklet notes
English, French, German
No. of discs