Back to Catalogue

BBC Proms 2016: WEDO · Martha Argerich · Daniel Barenboim

Martha Argerich piano
West-Eastern Divan Orchestra
Daniel Barenboim

The West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, a symbol of tolerance and understanding between people, opens with Jörg Widman’s Con brio and are then joined by the legendary Martha Argerich for Franz Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 1. The extraordinary concert is completed with popular excerpts from Wagner’s Tannhäuser, Meistersinger and Ring der Nibelungen.


Jörg Widmann: Con Brio
Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major 
Franz Schubert: Rondo in A major D951
Richard Wagner: Overture to Tannhäuser, Dawn, Siegfried's Rhine Journey and Funeral March from Götterdämmerung, Overture to Meistersinger, Prelude to Meistersinger Act III, Prelude to Lohengrin Act III

" unforgettable performance..."
The Guardian

Facts DVD Blu-ray

Item number
UPC code
Region code
All (A1/B2/C3)
Picture format
Full HD 16:9
Sound format
PCM Stereo
dts-HD Master Audio
Total running time
115 mins
No. of discs
Live from the BBC Proms 2016, directed by John Williams