Back to Catalogue

Beethoven Symphony No. 1

Karita Mattila soprano | Violeta Urmana alto | Thomas Mose tenor | Eike Wilm Schulte bass | Svedish Radio Choir | Eric Ericson Chamber Choir
Berliner Philharmoniker
Claudio Abbado

La Repubblica called it: 'The most wonderful symphonic cycle of the past decade.' The Beethoven Symphonies mark the highlight of Abbado's relationship with the Berliner Philharmoniker and his 12 years as chief conductor. “Abbado lets loose all the conflicting elements of Beethoven's cosmos - nothing works anymore, the music threatens to explode once and for all, deliverance has to come from somewhere. A powerful moment of unsparing analysis of Beethoven and his own self…” Süddeutsche Zeitung Available complete or as individual symphonies


Beethoven Symphony No. 1, Op. 21, C Major


Prog. No.
Music genre
Orchestral Music
30 mins
Bob Coles
© EuroArts Music International, RAI
Production year